Wednesday, April 11, 2012

United States: 10 Shark Species Being Considered for CITES

The United States released today the list of shark species for which they may propose amendments for consideration at next year's Conference of the Parties to CITES. From the Federal Register:
The United States, as a Party to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES), may propose amendments to the CITES Appendices for consideration at meetings of the Conference of the Parties. The sixteenth regular meeting of the Conference of the Parties to CITES (CoP16) is tentatively scheduled to be held in Thailand, March 3–15, 2013. With this notice, we describe proposed amendments to the CITES Appendices (species proposals) that the United States might submit for consideration at CoP16 and invite your comments and information on these proposals.

You may submit comments pertaining to species proposals for consideration at CoP16 by one of the following methods:

Federal eRulemaking Portal:
Follow the instructions for submitting comments on Docket No. FWS–R9–IA–2011–0087.

U.S. mail or hand-delivery:
Public Comments Processing, Attn: FWS–R9–IA–2011–0087
Division of Policy and Directives Management
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
4401 N. Fairfax Drive, MS 2042–PDM
Arlington, VA 22203.


The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES or the Convention) is an international treaty designed to control and regulate international trade in certain animal and plant species that are now or potentially may be threatened with extinction, and are affected by trade. These species are included in Appendices to CITES, which are available on the CITES Secretariat’s Web site. Currently, 175 countries, including the United States, are Parties to CITES. The Convention calls for meetings of the Conference of the Parties, held every 2 to 3 years, at which the Parties review its implementation, make provisions enabling the CITES Secretariat in Switzerland to carry out its functions, consider amendments to the lists of species in Appendices I and II, consider reports presented by the Secretariat, and make recommendations for the improved effectiveness of CITES. Any country that is a Party to CITES may propose amendments to Appendices I and II, as well as resolutions, decisions, and agenda items for consideration by all the Parties.
The 10 shark species being considered by the United States are:

Longfin mako shark (Isurus paucus)—Inclusion in Appendix II.

Shortfin mako shark (Isurus oxyrinchus)—Inclusion in Appendix II.

Porbeagle shark (Lamna nasus)—Inclusion in Appendix II or Appendix I.

Scalloped hammerhead shark (Sphyrna lewini), great hammerhead shark (S. mokarran), and smooth hammerhead shark (S. zygaena)— Inclusion in Appendix II.

Oceanic whitetip shark (Carcharhinus longimanus)—Inclusion in Appendix II or Appendix I.

Bigeye thresher shark (Alopias superciliosus), common thresher shark (A. vulpinus), and pelagic thresher shark (A. pelagicus)—Inclusion in Appendix II.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...